Skip to main content

13 International Youth School-Conference "Magnetic resonance and its applications - Spinus-2016"

Information for posters: the recomended size of the poster is format A1, vertical orientation

Welcome to the 13th International Youth School-Conference Spinus-2016 "Magnetic resonance and its applications" organized by Saint Petersburg State University from November 20 to 26, 2016.

Spinus intends to provide students and young scientists an opportunity to learn and discuss modern applications of magnetic resonance techniques in solving fundamental and applied problems in physics, chemistry, medicine and biology.

The estimated number of participants is 200, including 120 young participants (students and scientists under 35 years old).


The scope of the Conference includes the following topics:

  • Modern trends in NMR, EPR and NQR
  • Magnetic resonance for fundamental science
  • Computer Modeling
  • Earth's field NMR
  • Magnetic resonance imaging
  • Magnetic resonance in industry
  • Related areas

The conference will take place the presentation of Double Master Program of St. Petersburg State University and the Lappeenranta University of Technology

In 2016 Spinus schedules a special section "Application of Magnetic Resonance in Medicine and Biology" in which will reflect the activities of the Biomolecular NMR Laboratory.

Traditionally, Barbara and Uwe Eichhoff (Germany) established a prize fund of EUR 500 for the promotion of the best oral and poster presentations among young participants.

Official languages of the School are English and Russian. Extended abstracts will be published in the Book of Abstract.


Spinus-2016 will be held at the hotel "Baltiets" in Repino on the Gulf of Finland, 30 km north-west of the St. Petersburg city center.

Registration fee

The registration fee is 7600 rub. (≈100 €) for active participants and 3800 rub. (≈50 €) for Ph. D. students, accompanying person and students. For Russian citizen the fee is 2000 rub and 1000 rub, correspondently

Abstract and Paper submission

Abstracts up to 3 typewritten pages (including tables and figures) in the MS Word format according to the conference template, should be sent to the e-mail address as attachment (please put the subject "Spinus-2016 abstract") till October 31th, 2016. The abstract template will appear soon.

In 2016 selected papers of the Spinus-2016 participants will be published in a special issue of Applied Magnetic Resonance (a journal indexed by Scopus). The journal site:

Articles prepared in agreement with the requirements of the journal should be sent to the following e-mail address: (please put the subject “Spinus-2016 AMR-paper”) till November 30th , 2016.


On-line registration is available on the conference site:

Scientific adviser of the School-Conference

Vladimir Chizhik, Honored Scientist of Russia, prof., SPSU

Program Commeetee

  • Aleksandrov E.B. (acad., prof., Ioffe Institute, St. Petersburg)
  • Balevicius V. (prof., Vilnius, Lithuania)
  • Bunkov Yu.M. (prof., Grenoble, France)
  • Chizhik V.I. (prof., St. Petersburg, Russia)
  • Fruchart D. (prof., Grenoble, France)
  • Grunin L.Yu (PhD, director Resonance Systems Ltd)
  • Lahderanta E. (prof., Lappeentanta University of Technology)
  • Michel D. (prof., Leipzig, Germany)
  • Minkin V.I. (acad., prof., Rostov-on-Don, Russia)
  • Skrynnikov N.R. (St. Petersburg, Russia)
  • Tagirov M.S. (prof., Kazan, Russia)
  • Vasiliev S. (prof., Turku, Finland)

Organizing committee

Chairman: Markelov Denis, associate professor, SPSU
Vice-chairman: Alexander Ievlev, researcher, SPSU
Committee members: Andrey Egorov, associate professor, SPSU,
Andrey Komolkin, associate professor, SPSU,
Pavel Kupriyanov, engineer, SPSU,
Sergey Bystrov, graduate student, SPSU,
Sevastyan Rabdano, trainee researcher, SPSU,
Konstantine Tutukin, senior researcher, SPSU,
Timofey Popov, SPSU.


Dr. Denis Markelov, Alexandr Ievlev
1, Ulyanovskay st, Peterhof, 198504, St. Petersburg, Russia
Dept. Nuclear Physics Research Methods
St. Petersburg State University,
Tel.: (812) 428-99-48, Fax: (812) 428-72-40